Nocturnal farming ain’t for sissies……..

Because we both still work full time jobs each day, we mostly do our farming at night. And let me tell you, it ain’t for sissies! It gets dark way out here in the boonies – I mean you literally can’t see your hand in front of your face if there isn’t at least a half moon. I’ve tripped over my own muck boots, while they were on my feet. I have tripped over a baby walnut tree trying to avoid a ginormous mud hole in the road. (I went down hard that time!) I have stumbled across the cattle gap more times than I can count. And don’t get me started on the strange animal sounds! Have you ever heard a fox scream in the dark? I can almost hear the theme to Dark Shadows playing in the background sometimes!

But there is a certain peace on the farm at night. It is so quiet in terms of being devoid of “city” sounds, and yet, there is one of the loudest symphonies being played that you can’t hear yourself think. The owls are my favorite to listen to at night. Their conversations are loud and long and sometimes very close by. I wonder sometimes what they are saying to each other. The stars are so big and bright you feel like you could reach up and touch them. It’s hard to describe to someone who hasn’t experienced simply being in the middle of nowhere during the still of the night. So in spite of the scary parts, I wouldn’t trade it. Until I can retire from my corporate life, I will strap on my headlight each night, cowgirl-up and get the job done!

20120404-061229.jpg

8 responses to “Nocturnal farming ain’t for sissies……..

  1. Hmmm…. makes me wonder if I could pull off the nocturnal farming too. Even with being a full time stay-at-home mom, I can NEVER keep up with what needs doing. I do love the desert night here. Love your blogging! Keep going!

  2. I’m a sundown farmer as well. I get home, work till dinner, eat with the family, tuck the kids in and head back out for a few more hours. Nothing like standing in the rain at 11 pm trying to figure out where the fence is shorting out. My lovely bride will not close up the chickens alone if it’s dark out.

    • Fortunately for us, my husband works 4-10’s so he has three days off per week to do the heavy stuff. But if he’s working or our of town, I do my best to feed and water. I must admit, I’ve chickened out before and turned around and run back to the house like there was a demon on my heels, LOL!

  3. I thought of your response today when my wife called to say she couldn’t start the tractor.

    My wife has similar issues with noises at night. We had to have a talk about the distinct lack of bodies in our driveway. That didn’t help. She doesn’t want to be the first.

  4. LOL! Our closest neighbor is about 1/3 to 1/2 of a mile away. The first night I stayed all night by myself after moving from the “city” was Halloween. I had two cars for a total of 5 trick or treaters. My little dog sat on the back of the couch growling for a solid hour. I eventually took two tylenol PM, locked myself in the bedroom and went to sleep. When I woke up the next day and nothing had happened, I haven’t been afraid since. Except in the dark going to the barn or pasture.

Leave a Reply

